A different kind of love song

When you think of love songs, I bet lines like “Oh baby, baby, baby, baaaaaaaaby, I love you” and other word conglomerations of that ilk come to mind. These songs run the gamut of happy, sad, mournful, or even overly goopy.

Leave it to my sweetie to write a song for me that speaks to what we value, not to mention what I spend my days navigating in varying degrees while I make a living. The lyrics go like this:

Shed
by Sven Eberlein

I’ve got a closet full of things
don’t know how they made it in
there’s that sweater I don’t like
and the tapes left behind by my friend Mike

I’ve tried to clear it out before
but all that stuff keeps getting more
my house is looking like a store
and now I can’t even close the door

Shedding thoughts, shedding fears, shedding layers, shedding years
shed the future, shed the past, shed what’s missing, it won’t last

I wanna buy a brand new car
wanna travel to Qatar
get my hands on the new Mac
be the first to buy the app

What the hell I wanna splurge
later I can always purge
there’s no deal I wouldn’t search
I just can’t resist the sudden urge

And now I’m drowning in my junk
oh Lord, why am I in such a funk?
but no, another gift, another chunk
where should I put it, in my trunk?

I’m overwhelmed, I start to pray
for all the stuff to go away
I wanna meditate all day
but then I gotta buy a cushion first — oy vey!

Shedding thoughts, shedding fears, shedding layers, shedding years
shed the future, shed the past, shed what’s missing, it won’t last
sit on the shed or underneath, find a little space to breathe’
clear the clutter in your head, if that don’t work, get rid of shed

I wanna set it all on fire
but that would get the carbon levels higher
my situation is so dire
my crap’s feeding the Pacific Gyre

Oh what can I do, what can be done?
my compulsion to consume seems so human
but when all else fails there’s still this song
all together, everyone:

Shedding thoughts, shedding fears, shedding layers, shedding years
shed the future, shed the past, shed what’s missing, it won’t last
sit on the shed or underneath, find a little space to breathe’
clear the clutter in your head, if that don’t work, get rid of shed
shed the garbage, shed the waste, stop the buying, slow the chase
get your shed together now, you don’t need much anyhow

(Listen to a raw un-studioed version of Shed!)

In addition to making me want to dance a little jig, the song gets even more awesome: he has donated it for use in Kate Schermerhorn’s forthcoming documentary called, Do I Need This?, a “quirky film about consumerism, excess, and what we really need in life.” Financial backing for the project has gained great momentum in its final Kickstarter days. I’d love to see this film get made, so consider chiming in with a pledge of your support. (Gosh, I hear myself sounding like Ira Glass during an NPR pledge drive.)

And what’s one of the greatest things about this song? It adds nary an ounce of clutter to the world.

Time to ramp it up to a happy Snoopy dance!

Leave a Reply

